Getting back on track!

12 09 2012

Route: Boardwalk

Distance: 2.1 miles

Time: 23 minutes

As I started running this morning, I was anxious on whether I would see improvement from the last run. As I stated in the last post, I’ve been stuck running the same intervals with no improvement for a few weeks. I’m used to seeing a bit of progress with every run so my frustration led me back to the walk-run method promoted by Jeff Galloway. On this past Sunday’s run, I ran for 23 minutes with a 3:1 run-walk ratio. However near the end of the run, I switched to a 2:1 ratio because I kept running out of breath.

For today’s run, I decided to do the same 23 minute run and see what happens. Near the end of the run, I realized that although it was hard, I was going to finish the run with the same ratio I started with. It felt good to see progress again. I finally had a good run and didn’t mind that I was sweating a bucket and my shirt was wicking overtime.

I decided to repeat the same run this Friday and then go for a 3 mile long run on Sunday. I never done a long run at the end of a week as the Galloway technique states, but I know I’m supposed to run two minutes slower when I go for it. When I do, I’ll be looking to see how tired I will be at the end of the run and if running slower really extends the distance endurance. I feel good about my training again (finally).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

