Trying Something New (again).

1 10 2012

Route: Boardwalk

Distance: 3.1 miles

Time: 36 minutes

Shoe Mileage: 222.78 miles.

As I’m sure most runners do, I am always researching new ideas and techniques for running effectively and implement them during my runs. This past week I have searched the internet for articles on how to run a faster 5k in order to improve my speed. As I read a few articles, I realized that I’ve been doing it a bit wrong. My plan was to redo the Couch to 5K while using the space 10 minute per mile pace. Unfortunately, my progress kept getting held up at the 20 minute run. I would constantly run out of breath before I can finish.

Some of the articles I have read stated that in order to be able to run faster, you must be able to run longer. Well, I know I haven’t been doing that. Last week I did a long-run of 3 1/2 miles on a 12 min. per mile pace and it seemed very easy. I decided to try running a 5K this past Sunday without taking any walk breaks to see where I am fitness-wise. About halfway through I took a two-minute walk and then was able to finish the run without any breaks. However, it was a brutal second-half. I almost quit several times and truthfully, I don’t know how I was able to finish it. I really had to push myself to get through it.

My plan is to be able to run a 5K at any speed so that I can get more miles in. I would like to run a 5K without breaks but use the Galloway system for marathon training. I will wait two days and then try the 5K again to see if the run gets easier. Let’s see what happens.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

